

## CONNOR DE PHILLIPPI SCORES HIS SECOND POLE OF THE 2011 STAR MAZDA SEASON FOR THE NIGHT BEFORE THE 500 AT LUCAS OIL RACEWAY

Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis (May 28, 2011) – Connor De Phillippi, shattering the existing lap record by more than 6/10ths of a second in his #11 Team Pelfrey / Justice Brothers Products / Trademark Garage Floors Mazda, scored his second pole of the 2011 Star Mazda Championship season in qualifying for tonight's 'Night Before the 500' at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. De Phillippi's lap of 19.999 (123.486 mph) decisively disposed of the previous record, a 20.665 set last year by current Indy Lights driver Mikael Grenier.

And it will be an all-yellow front row with De Phillippi's Team Pelfrey teammate, Nick Andries, starting on the outside of the front row with a lap of 20.202 (122.245 mph) in his Team Pelfrey / Lithionics Battery / GS610 Brake Fluid / Trademark Garage Floors Mazda. Rounding out the top-5 are Sage Karam, the 2010 USF2000 champion and Mazda Road to Indy scholarship driver, with a 3rd-quick lap of 20.220 (122.136 mph); current points leader Tristan Vautier with a 4th-fast lap of 20.389 (121.124 mph) in the #5 JDC Motorsports / Cecibon / Circuit du Laquais Mazda. And starting 5th will be the lone female driver in the field, Tatiana Calderon, with a time of 20.389 (121.124 mph) in her #10 Juncos Racing / JAC Motors Mazda.

The 100-lap/45-minute Round 3 of the 2011 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear will take the green flag at 8:10 pm. Follow the action on:

Twitter: <a href="http://www.twitter.com/starmazdaseries">http://www.twitter.com/starmazdaseries</a>

Facebook: <a href="http://www.facebook.com/starmazdaseries">http://www.facebook.com/starmazdaseries</a>